Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
48

My Speech at the Health & Freedom Rally, 27th August 2021

Remembering two years ago at City Hall, San Francisco
48

If the above video stutters (as Substack videos tend to do), I also uploaded an unlisted link to YouTube (assuming they don’t delete it).


I just found this video yesterday, ha. Two years ago almost to the day, there was a Health & Freedom Rally at City Hall, San Francisco organized by many SF/Bay Area Freedom groups. When the original MC stepped down, I was asked to step in at the last minute, and this was the opening speech for the rally just before I introduced the first speaker, Yvette Corkrean.

I can’t remember who shot the video (thank you, whoever you are!) but the first couple of minutes are missing. Fortunately, I was able to find the full speech in my email drafts so I can share the opening lines with you:

Hello everyone! Thank you for joining us on this beautiful day. We welcome you all to the Health & Freedom Rally in support of frontline workers and their families. We have an excellent line-up of brilliant speakers to inspire you, and to remind us all why we are present today. 

I reiterate that this rally has been organized specifically to support federal, state and city workers against medical mandates. It is neither pro-vax nor anti-vax… 

It is in fact a pro-choice and anti-mandate rally….

For those that were there, you might remember there was another protest organized behind us on the steps of City Hall. I can’t quite recall what they were protesting (please comment below if you can remember) but it sure was a very loud and rowdy crowd. Many of us did wonder if they were a Soros-funded rentamob. They were a lot fewer than us but their incessant, noisy shouting almost drowned out our speakers. However because our rally started late, the ruckus of the (paid ?) rebels, who were on the clock for one hour exactly, only affected us for about 10 or so minutes. So please forgive the shrillness of my voice; I was shouting to drown their noise out from my ears but they did manage to interrupt my speech here and there.

We had a turnout of somewhere in the region of 300 to 400 people which, for the Belly of the Beast city that is San Francisco, was a big deal.

And afterwards we had a dance party.

“Stay Sane!”

PS. Thanks so much to Sarah for making a Sane Francisco banner out of one of my old sheets, and to Rebecca for the the beautiful “My Right To Consent Is Sacred” sign right in front of me.


By the way, I’ve been looking for the list of speakers as well as links to their videos online. If anyone can provide any of those, I will update this post to add them.

Leave a comment

Share

Sane Francisco is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

48 Comments
Sane Francisco
Sane Francisco
Authors
Sane Franciscan